Legion of Merit – Decorations of the US Armed Forces

Legion of Merit Medals

Legion of Merit Medals


As a Rear Admiral in the US Navy, Rick Williams led missions at Navy Region Hawaii. Rear Admiral Rick Williams’ service earned him five Legion of Merit Medals for his outstanding service to his nation.

Dating back to 1942, the Legion of Merit is the first and one of only six military decorations designated for Armed Forces personnel and foreign nationals. It was created by Pres. Franklin Roosevelt and accompanied by an executive order spelling out standards for the award. At the time, it required personal approval from the president, though this duty has since been handed off to the Department of War.

The Legion of Merit is a medal awarded to high-ranking officers in the US Armed Forces. It is awarded to individuals who have demonstrated “exceptionally meritorious conduct in the performance of outstanding service,” whether they are part of the military or not. Each branch of the military has its own protocol for multiple awards, but oak clusters or stars generally represent multiple Legion of Merit awards.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s